Disconnected

After moving to West Seattle, the wife and I decided to wait before we got any internet service. First of all, it’s expensive — we’re living in a place with rent several hundred dollars than the previous place, and we want to re-introduce any unnecessary bills over time so that we ease into this new financial situation instead of just jump right in. Second of all, we were both feeling a bit oversturated with the internet — sometimes, it’s nice to take a break.

Which isn’t to say that we’ve eschewed the internet completely. The wife still does all of the bills, banking, and finances online. We still use email and Facebook (though much more sparingly), and, of course, I still blog. We just don’t have it so readily available at our fingertips when we’re home.

It’s been fairly liberating.

For one, instead of using the internet as a time waster, aimlessly wandering the vast, empty intellectual calorie wastelands which constitute the majority of the internet, our internet usage has become much more structured, which still boggles my mind. Whenever I walk to the library for the daily internet time, I carry a piece of paper that has all of the tasks that I need to do — writing, email, Facebook, any questions that I have (ranging from “prenatal yoga” to “how to get the good endings for Muramasa” or “what is Eckenar”), pre-written blog posts I want to schedule, and other internet tasks. I then quickly move down the check list while writing all of the information I need into a planner (“Use Mumei Tamanoo and Tsukitoshi for the 2nd ending, use Oboro Muramasa for the 3rd ending”).

Interestingly enough, my planner (where I record most of these things) has become almost a journal of my thoughts. On Monday, February 7, you can see that I was very obsessed with the idea of press kits. What’s a press kit? How do you write one? Tuesday, however, is a page filled with tips on exercise for pregnant women. Today’s is a hodgepodge of questions, ranging from “what time is our old neighbor’s party starting?” to “when is the Egyptian independence party in Bellevue?” I have three blog ideas to work on, as well as a list of projects for which I need to utilize internet time for.

Ben Crowder once discussed his “Thirty Second Rule:”

I’ve found that one really effective way for me to break through mental blocks and make headway on a project is to tell myself I only have to spend thirty seconds on it.

Can I get anything useful done in thirty seconds? Depends on the task, but the important thing is that it makes it a lot easier for me to get into the project and start working. Starting is the hardest part, after all. (After that, in my experience, the next hardest part is stopping.)

Limiting the internet has made my internet, in a sense, a giant thirty second rule. I have eleven tasks I have to do on the internet today, ranging from a simple Google search to extensive research. I have limited time to accomplish that. So, if you’ll excuse me, I’m crossing this blog post off my list and I’m moving on to my next item.

How do I recruit more Felynes in Monster Hunter to work on my farm?

Leave a comment

Filed under life stories

Leave a Reply

