This is a soundtrack for our movie

I really can’t explain it but I,
I hear the music when I look at you.
Orchestrating the song to accommodate the moment.
– Soundtrack For Our Movie, Mae

Lately, Amazon has been selling mp3 album downloads for around $5 (the recent sale says that for every $7.99+ album you buy, you get one of the $5 albums for free), which means I’ve been on a music buying frenzy. A lot of my music library is confined still to the compact disc format, and my music tastes have changed drastically from my high school years.

I’ve taken advantage of this opportunity to start building up my woefully lacking “coffee house” music, which my wife looks upon with relative indifference. Some of the music I’ve picked up (Ingrid Michaelson, Owl City) she’s embraced with enthusiasm, while others (Mirah, Rocking Horse Winner) not so much. Because her interest in keeping up with music has waned with age, I have open season on the music I’m snapping up. I’ve found I have a slightly curious way of deciding whether I want an album – while snacking on the samples available on Amazon, I close my eyes and see if it will match up with my anticipated next six months as a soundtrack – or if it would fit well with the sitcom that Quinton and I always talk about writing and producing someday (which explains the “coffee house” obsession; also, for what it’s worth, this is really how I choose my music).

At the moment, I’m poised to purchase Dreaming Through The Noise by Vienna Teng, Wind-Up Canary by Casey Dienel, Maybe I’m Dreaming by Owl City, Fireflies and Songs by Sara Groves, Taller Children by Elizabeth & The Catapult, and One Cell in the Sea by A Fine Frenzy. We’re still waiting for about $100 of Amazon credit to process, so there will be more music purchased. Oh yes, there will be more.

Which brings me to this thought. It’s been a fairly long time since I’ve bought music (I tend to buy music in maniacal bursts separated by years of disquieting silence and furious consumption of what I have). How do you buy music? What do you look for in what you purchase? And got any suggestions?

1 Comment

Filed under life stories

One response to “This is a soundtrack for our movie

  1. justjillsblog

    I’m usually introduced to a song or band through a television show or movie, actually (500 Days of Summer had some GOOD songs). That, and Jamie has really good taste in music. Oh, and Pandora.

    Honestly, I don’t think about it nearly as much as I wish I did. I miss out on a lot of good songs because of my apathy.

    Artists I’d purchase if I wasn’t so lazy:
    Lily Allen
    Amy Winehouse
    Simon & Garfunkel
    Owl City
    MGMT
    M.I.A.
    Stars

    Those are just from my Pandora station, which is called A Gust of Lily Killed at the Apple Post. It helps me remember what artists I’ve put in there: Guster, Lily Allen, The Killers, Fionna Apple, and Postal Service. 😀

Leave a Reply

