Selling out

Writing as a profession infuriates me. Apparently, most people believe that if you’re a freelance writer, you don’t deserve any respect, or you don’t really need to get paid. Therefore, I’m selling out. I’m done writing as a career.

It doesn’t mean I’m going to stop writing period. There’s still things like NaNoWriMo and this blog (and, of course, the Calvin and Hobbes – Encyclopedia Brown fanfic; I haven’t forgotten about it!). Writing as a hobby is incredibly rewarding and I plan on keeping it for as long as I live. But when getting paid to write is sometimes like wrestling a pig covered in grease and molasses (for the extra unpleasant-ness), sometimes it’s not worth it, even if you’re doing what you love for your job.

As far as writing for money goes, I’m done. I’m selling out.

1 Comment

Filed under life stories, wordsmithing

One response to “Selling out

  1. justjillsblog

    You will probably be happier for it. Writing for a company isn’t what you envision when you say you want to be a writer. It’s corporate BS and makes you feel like you’re abusing the power of rhetoric.

    Beside that, no one pays you on time.

Leave a Reply

