The great food deception

Kurt Michael Friese said in his article “Colonel of Truth – How I beat the KFC’s ‘family challenge’:

When it comes to food, America has been sold a bill of goods. We’ve been flimflammed, bamboozled, hoodwinked. We’ve been tricked into thinking that cooking is a chore, like washing windows, to be avoided if at all possible, and then done only grudgingly and when absolutely necessary. On the contrary, cooking is a vital, spiritual act that should be performed with a certain reverence. After all, we are providing sustenance to the ones we love — can anything be more important?

This probably remains one of my favorite quotes on cooking. if I could, I would have this quote crossstitched and placed above the stove in our kitchen. Sadly, lately I’ve lost sight of this ideal, and haven’t really cooked much in a very long time.

I suppose I’ve used the excuse that I just don’t have time; us modern-day humans never seem to have time. But Friese chides us for even considering such an excuse in the same article:

I can already hear folks saying, “Sure, but how long did it take you?” Yes, it took a little longer than the drive-thru, but it is important to recognize the value of spending time preparing a good home-cooked meal. How is it, after all, that with all the modern conveniences afforded us in the 21st century, we still don’t think we have the time to do something everyone had time for until the middle of the 20th century?

Shame on me, I guess. I need to do a lot better.

Leave a comment

Filed under life stories

Leave a Reply

